0121 464 9900

Our Curriculum

The staff have worked together to develop a curriculum framework which covers the whole school from Nursery through to Year 6. Each class teacher prepares a detailed planning document for each term and from this. English and Mathematics are planned in further detail on a weekly basis.

Under the terms of the 1988 Education Act every child from the age of 5 years must follow the National Curriculum which consists of four Core subjects (because we are a Church Academy we include R.E. as a Core Subject) and six Foundation subjects.

Our Core subjects are:

  • English (Literacy)
  • Mathematics (Numeracy)
  • Science
  • Religious Education

Our Foundation subjects are:

  • History
  • Geography
  • Art & Design
  • Music
  • Computing
  • P.E.
  • Design & Technology
  • MFL - French - KS2 only

Wherever possible these subjects are taught across the year through a series of cross- curricular topics.

The school curriculum also includes cross-curricular subject areas including:

  • Environmental Education
  • Life Skills which includes Personal, Social and Moral Education, Citizenship, Health Education and Circle Time
  • Careers

Holy Trinity has policies under continual review and development for each of these areas of the curriculum. Each Policy contains knowledge, skills, and concepts of learning based upon the National Curriculum and Primary Frameworks. Each Policy takes into account the needs of our children.

Topic based, cross-curricular curriculum

At Holy Trinity C.E. Primary Academy we deliver the curriculum for the Foundation subjects through a thematic and skills based, cross-curricular programme. This not only helps our children to learn in a broader context, continually building upon personal skills acquisition but also develops their understanding of global issues and the difference we can make as citizens of the future.